Demotivating Facial Hair

A recently released international study has shown that men and women with unkempt facial hair have been shown to be 73% less productive and creative than those with well-trimmed or clean-shaven faces.

Okay, that is patently false. I actually completely made that up on the spot, but with good reason. We all have habits, circumstances or events that sap our creativity or motivation. Let me explain a bit.

I discovered today that I am demotivated when I am unshaven. A goatee is acceptable, and a fu manchu is borderline, but if I go four or more days without shaving, I lose motivation.

I work from home, so facial hair and clothes are almost entirely my decision. I could technically work naked and never shave, though my neighbors might complain…or my children. Still, I tend to shave and wear jeans and a polo shirt most days.

Because I have been on vacation for the past week, I haven’t shaved. I even joked last night about growing 19th century fashionable sideburns.

Today was my first day back at work, and I found myself on a 9 am call today with a six-day shadow. At the end of the call, I had a good deal of work on my plate.

Here’s the funny part. As soon as I got off the call, I went downstairs and shaved. I thought to myself, “I have too much to do to look like a Mountain Man!” Now, I am not trying to pick on men with gratuitous facial hair. I just discovered that my motivation and creativity are sapped when my facial hair is not well maintained.

The key is this – I did something about it, so I could find my motivation and creativity. We should all do the same. Identify the barriers to our motivation and creativity, do everything we can to remove those barriers, and get moving!

What saps your motivation and creativity? What can you do about it today? How can I help?

Leave a Reply

