2013 – The Year to Overcome

Wish I could tell you that I am big into New Year’s resolutions, but I am not.

Wish I could tell you that I choose I key word or phrase to define what I want to accomplish for the coming year, but that would be a lie.

I usually view life more as a continuum, and see each moment as a chance to become someone better (or worse) than I was. But this year is different.

This year, my diagnosis of epilepsy in November has put me and my family in a bit of a crisis mode. The normal way of doing business just is not going to cut it. Something has to give.

I am not foolish enough to sit here and tell you that 2013 will be the year that I conquer my epilepsy, because that is not up to me. There is too much guesswork. The right medication. The right dosage. The right timing. The right positioning of Saturn in comparison to Venus.

I can decide how to respond to my epilepsy though, and starting today, I am not going to be overcome by it. I may continue to have 3 seizures every day for the rest of 2013 (God, I pray it’s not so). These seizures will not rule me.

I will not be overcome by this circumstance, no matter how much it just plain sucks.

Many years ago, God used Romans 8:31-39 to draw me into a saving knowledge of His Son Jesus Christ, and tonight He is using it to draw me back into a full assurance of His good intentions toward me. It’s a long passage, so here is just a snippet of it:

If God is for us, who is against us?…But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Won’t you join me? What do you need to overcome this year?

11 thoughts on “2013 – The Year to Overcome

  1. Pingback: There is No Plan Q, Not Even a Plan B | sometimes HOPE

  2. Pingback: Graffiti & Family Fun Time For the Win? | sometimes HOPE

  3. Robin

    Chris,

    I’m just getting introduced to your blog and look forward to following you throughout this year! I am in full agreement that you will not let epilepsy overcome or conquer you — you will not be overcome by the circumstance. When Jesus died he bore the stripes so you (and I and everyone else) were healed! He was, and still is, victorious over the enemy!

    I admire your honesty and courage. Your encouragement not to focus on the circumstance is a great reminder for us all in this new year. We know where we need to focus!

    Thanks for sharing with us!

    Robin

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Guest Posting Today | sometimes HOPE

  5. Pingback: Guest Posting with Tammy Helfrich Today | sometimes HOPE

  6. Pingback: Guest Posting AGAIN! Yes, Yes I am | sometimes HOPE

  7. Pingback: Graffiti & Family Fun Time For the Win? - Chris Morris

  8. Pingback: There is No Plan Q, Not Even a Plan B - Chris Morris

Leave a comment